Tuesday, October 07, 2008

Hey Raju

Today was something different for me. Everything felt good really after a long time. I dunno why. I started late for work, as usual i was working until 4 AM yesterday, went to datacenter couldnt complete the connectivity because of carrier issues, closed my day at 6 PM as i had to go to Santa Clara Cycles to pick up the Dragon Racer handlebar strap and oil filter. Had a good chat with Greg and his son and he told me how an American lady wanted to immigrate to India because she liked India very much than America. Amazing story it was. As usual i got lots of questions on caste system and marriage, and i tried my best to explain. Greg is a great guy !! Always helpful. I am ever to see a shop owner like him who so much cares for his customers.

I came home had to send some official emails so cooking started late. so all this post is about cooking. I made a great dish with potao and beet (thats it, nothing else). and it turned out to be real great. You know, how i am so paranoid about cuisine taste and criticize every dish even if it is made my me or my Dad (though my Dad is a 1000 times better cook than me). i used "paanch phoron" , garlic, onion, tomato and ginger/garlic powder thats it... seasoned the potato and beet with lemon and salt and cooked it in mellow temperature for 10 minutes. i pressured the beet and potato for 10 mins before.

Trackday is nearing and i am so excited about it. Cant wait to post how my trackday goes.

Well, thats it for today, i need to finish some work urgently, am at the patio smoking a Gold Flake, (after a long time, feels good !!!) Hell, i dunno if every i can quit smoking.

Saturday, October 04, 2008

New Suit

So, i went out on a 80 mile road up 35/9 today with the new suit on. I had tough time putting the suit on at the first place, Ya, Daniel did tell me that the suit will be super tight and i will be slipping. So i did slip. And, anyways it was raining today so i wanted to be more cautious. My average speed was 50-55 mph. Well, on 35 after Alice's not a human being, car or bike on road. Probably everyone is in home due to the rains. For me, ride anytime rain or shine !!!!

Am going for a 25/198 Coalinga ride tomorrow with Prabhat. Good to meet an Indian rider on Barf. The roundtrip ride will be close to 400 miles. I dont like small rides anyways. I believe my new suit will break-in more and all set for my trackday on Oct 13/14

Well, on the professional front, very busy with PCI Audit, have been reviewing all Network ACLs and doing a call with the India team everyday from 9:30 PM to 12:30 AM. Very tiring -- office, gym and then call. I wish this ends soon.

So whats upcoming ?

I have the Corp DMZ move from SC4 datacenter to SC9 datacenter scheduled Oct 10. After that, i have to visit Denver, CO to finish up some DR work. My fall roadtrip is also planned during the same timeframe. So my target is Utah, Oregon and DR work. Hopefully i should cover it within 15 days. My DR work is actually 3 days, but i told the company it will take 7 days, damn angrez dont understand a shit !! and anyways they bloat stuff, so why not me. At least i buy 4 days time here.

Am no taking any off for December, will be mostly at CA (and of course riding and trackdays, eagerly waiting for the Laguna trackday on November). I might also finish my AFF class as well. I am die'ing to go back to free fall/ski diving. I initially had plans to go to NZ / Cooks Island but no money as of now. Tickets are too costly for December :-(

I may go to India on Feb, provided my trip to Fairbanks/Alaska to watch Northern Lights syncs up. My first preference is to view Northern Lights though. I just put in a request to my manager for 1.5 months vacation time and i know he will not disagree. Feb i will be at India, with 1 week at Bangalore, checking out the flat status and meeting my India team members and March; first two weeks at Fairbanks/Alaska. Hopefully everything turns out good.

What else ...... N95 V3 is woring great. Installed lots of appls .. still need to make the VPN working through. but overall very satisified with the purchase, even though its a second hand.

Me and Prasanna had Tequilla today. Loooooooooooong time no drinks !!!! felt real good. I took 3 shots, thats enuf for me for today. I have a 400 mile ride tomorrow.

Its Durga Puja festival at Calcutta, and i miss it so much. Its been 7 years now that i didnt see Durga Puja there. My mom is Secretary this year and she is working very hard, as usual.

I dont have anything to add to my gadget inventory yet, but i am die'ing to get the Canon EOS 1D camera, maybe if i get a bonus start of next year, i will buy it.

"Alls well that ends well" as Captain Haddock said, everything is going good for me until now. I try to forget the past, but several things just come in everyday to my thought. But, yeah !!!! live with it. Thats what life is all about.

Marriage front -- well, my mom is pestering me a lot, but i need to find someone who will gell with me. I think i found someone, have been talking to her last couple of days, but i still need to be cautious, after my last great f***ing incident at London. My blog is public, and she reads it, hopefully, she does not become bad after listening to my statements :-) but honestly, i need a friend not a wife !!!!!